top of page
Search

Updates

Updated: May 3, 2022

I am doing well I am in good spirits I am working hard doing the physical and occupational therapy that is available to me. However it’s slow going. This time I am not able to do the treadmill I am barely standing. Likely as a result of the inflammation ( or nerve damage?) caused by the previous brain radiation (We’ve established it’s not new cancer w lastmri I still have no control of my left leg, it’s just floppy and dead weight - my brain cannot communicate with it. My right leg I can control w my brain, yet it constantly spasms and stiffens if I stand on it . So I am confined to a wheelchair now . transferring from the wheelchair to cars or different areas has become more difficult with the lack of use of the lower half of my body. I have a manual wheelchair for use inside the houseANDgot fitted for a power wheelchair!


Lack of mobility I can handle, I’m doing physical and occupational therapy three days a week for two hours per day and getting stronger making some progressI am also having the new new Aviston infusions every two weeks. The new and current plan is to continue to do outpatient PT and OT at Shirley Ryan in Burr Ridge through the middle of JuneMonday, Wednesday Nd Thursdays 9:30-11:30 Along with the new Aviston infusions every two weeks On Fridays. Then I have another MRI scheduled in midJune….We’ll see how my brain is doing then.(I am tapering off the steroids currently which is awesome I already feel less irritable and ragey but I am just as puffy :(


Lack of mobility I can handle, I very well could’ve lost memories, the ability to speak, executive functioning skills….so I am thankful that I still have my full mental capacity ANDThanks to donated equipmen I received a loaner power wheelchair fitted and donated through a great organizationI’m gonna use it to work at the festivals this summer and explore and enjoy the commercial corridors. I’m excited to get out a and about and get some actual FaceTime / visiting / shmoozing with our chamber members and meeting new ones!


My medical leave ends in the middle of May so I’m gonna talk to the board of directors about extending it a bit until the latest treatment is done mid June and then I have been working part time this entire time from home and I’m gonna continue to do that until I can assess what next treatment steps are and what I can handle. The Chamber of Commerce is my baby it’s my company basically I know it’s a nonprofit but I have been working this whole time really I can’t help myself! My medical leave ends in the middle of May so I’m gonna talk to the board of directors about extending it a bit until latest treatment is done in mid June and ( I really have been working part time this entire time from home and I’m gonna continue to do that until I can assess what I can handle I have been working this whole time really still driving the staff crazy I’m sure I can’t help myself!!

99 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Steroids & Setbacks

iI was tapering off steroids however doing so coincided with new weakness in left arm. I have no strength in my left arm no grip it’s just a noodle and that started happening as I was tapearring off t

Great MRI

Had MRI today Not only am I stable I am improved ! What they thought could’ve been new cancer or inflammation from radiation is no longer there in most cases - Dr said situation in brain has actuall

Started new treatments

So we are home and navigating getting the house handicap accessible the rear chair stair lifts are in and e mastered them. I use voice recognition and please forgive all the errors and just try to s

bottom of page